To get an Arkansas real estate agent license you must, by State law, attend an approved real estate school. Upon successfully completing your pre-license course you then must pass an examination. Upon passing the examination you must apply for your license and pay the fees to become an official licensee.

 

The pre-license course at the Arkansas/Oklahoma School of Real Estate is $450, which includes textbooks and all supplemental educational materials, instruction and breaks, Once you complete the course, the application fee to the Arkansas Real Estate commission is $50, along with a $22 fee for a state criminal background check and $16.50 for a Federal criminal back ground check. The fee to take the state exam is $75. After you pass the examination, the license fee is $50, along with a one-time fee of $25 for the recovery fund. In all you are looking at about $650 to become a licensed Real Estate Salesperson in Arkansas.

 

Broker applicants must:

1. Have reached the age of majority, eighteen (18);

2. Successfully complete, within the thirty-six (36) months immediately preceding the date of the application, sixty (60) classroom hours of real estate principles, license law, and Commission regulations. All classroom hours must be from an approved school.

3. Have been licensed as an active real estate salesperson or broker for a period of not less than twenty-four (24) months within the previous forty-eight (48) month period immediately preceding the date of application. Upon written request such experience requirements may be waived for a real estate broker applicant who has held an active real estate broker’s license for a period of not less than eighteen (18) months [ACA Sect. 17-42-303 and Commission Regulation 4.1];

4. Submit application to the Arkansas Real Estate Commission with application fee as well as the processing fee for the federal and state criminal background checks;

5. Have both FBI and state police fingerprint cards completed at local police or sheriff's department and submit with the Arkansas Real Estate license application;

6. Pass the license examination; and

7. Submit the proper forms and fees to the Arkansas Real Estate Commission (as set forth on the passing score report issued by Promissor  at the time of examination) no later than ninety (90) days after passing the examination.

 

Applicants currently licensed in another state:

 

An applicant who has met the Arkansas Real Estate Commission's pre-licensing education requirements and is currently licensed in another state and seeking licensure in Arkansas at the same level, may request a waiver of the GENERAL portion of the examination. An applicant who meets all three (3) of the following requirements may be required to take only the Arkansas Law Portion of the Examination:

 

1. The applicant has passed a uniform, general, or multi-state part of an examination for a real estate license in another state, which the examination is determined by the Arkansas Real Estate Commission to meet generally acceptable standards of real estate testing, and

2. The other state requires a minimum passing grade no lower than that required for the general part of the Arkansas examination (70), and

3. The applicant at the time of taking the Arkansas examination is licensed in the other state. [Commission Regulation 4.2 (d)]

 

The Commission, after review, will notify all applicants who are qualified to take only the Arkansas Law Portion of the Examination.

Real Estate License Requirements

 

The Arkansas Real Estate License Examinations are developed and administered by Promissor, Inc., a National Independent Testing Company. The testing method in Arkansas is on a personal computer which eliminates the use of paper answer sheets. Knowledge of computers and typing is NOT required or needed.

 

Salesperson applicants must:

1. Have reached the age of majority, eighteen (18):

2. Successfully complete sixty (60) classroom hours of real estate education, of which thirty (30) hours must be in basic principles of real estate, from an approved school.

3. Submit application to the Arkansas Real Estate Commission with application fee as well as the processing fee for the federal and state criminal background checks;

4. Have both FBI and state police fingerprint cards completed at local police or sheriff's department and submit with the Arkansas Real Estate license application;

5. Pass the license examination; and

6. Submit the proper forms and fees to the Arkansas Real Estate Commission no later than ninety (90) days after passing the examination.

 

POST-LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS

 

Each salesperson and broker who is initially licensed after January 1, 2002, will complete a post-license education course or courses as established by the Commission. Said course(s) must be complete within one (1) year of initial  licensure to remain active.

 

FEES

 

The fees to take the Real Estate Examination are as follows:

$50 - application fee payable to AREC and sent to AREC with the application for examination

$22 - fee for State criminal background check payable to AREC and sent to AREC with the application for examination

$16.50 - fee for Federal criminal background check payable to the Arkansas State Police with a cashier check or money order

$75 - examination fee payable to Promissor, the testing company, which is paid at the test center

$50 - license activation fee payable to the AREC within ninety (90) days of the date the examination is passed

$25 - one time Recovery Fund Fee is required for each NEW licensee

 

The fees to take the Brokers Exam are as follows:

$70 - original broker license fee payable to AREC and sent to AREC with the application for examination

$22 - fee for State criminal background check payable to AREC which can be combined with the Application fee for a total fee of $72 to the AREC

$16.50 - fee for Federal criminal background check payable to the Arkansas State Police with a cashier check or money order

$75 - examination fee payable to Promissor, the testing company, which is paid at the test center

$50 - license activation fee payable to the AREC within ninety (90) days of the date the examination is passed

$25 - one time Recovery Fund Fee is required for each NEW licensee

 

Helpful  Address

 

Arkansas Real Estate Commission

612 South Summit Street

Little Rock, AR 72201-4740

– About –

 

How to Get an Arkansas
Real Estate License

 

CONTACT

– About –
– About –
– About –